Black Forest, My Special Cake!

image

STORY BEHIND BLACK FOREST

Before all, I’m sorry I can’t present you the photo of this cake. I baked a cake long time ago before Instagram is trended. Hehe. Besides, I don’t have any intended to document and taking photo my work for archieve. Hope you all don’t mind it :).

Well, I heard yesterday my cousin will bake Black Forest. No doubt, my random mind lead me to memorize the time, my moment when  I baked Black Forest at that time. The recipe I present you is taken from my mom secret book of cake recipe. Yes, she used to has hobby baking a cake and noted also collected the interesting recipe. After I remember, There were 2 times I bake Black Forest with my barely hand. First, at my 16th birthday and second, hidden story :p.

28 State Senior High School, Jakarta, have unusual tradition to the one who celebrated birthday at the time. I didn’t really remember whether it was just for my batch or another batch is same. In a brief, the one who celebrated birthday was the one who brought cake. So here I was, 16th birthday and intended to bring my very own birthday cake created by me. I remembered, I baked the batter, but my mom make the cream spread also decorate the cake. No doubt the cake looked so gorgeous. Haha. Like I said, I have passion to create my own handcraft. Cakes or things. But I really don’t have good hand. I can’t make something with gorgeous look even a neat one. Okay, back to the story. Because it mid test was held at the time, i brought the cake and board it out to school canteen refrigerator. After finished, I called my friends, especially my classmate and shared it to them. I didn’t want to tell them that I baked that cake, but after most of them told me it was a delicious cake, I told them. So, it was a happy moment. I wasn’t fail anyway ^_^.

So, that was all. I counted there was just two times I baked Black forest.
This cake special. Very special.

THE RECIPE

Ingredient:

Batter Cake

  • 10 Eggs
  • 150 gr granulated sugar
  • 30 gr TBM
  • 1/4 teaspoon BP
  • 50 cc water
  • 120 gr white flour
  • 30 gr cocoa powder
  • 40 gr maizena powder
  • 40 gr margarine
  • 35 gr room butter
  • Chocolate Pasta

Spread Cream and ornament

  • 1 box Whippy Cream
  • 60 gr sweetened condensed milk or 200 cc sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon strawberry essence or 1.5 table spoon grisco (white butter)
  • Blueberry jam
  • Colatta chocolate
  • Cherry

How To Cook:

  1. Mix 10 eggs (6 eggwhite + 10 yolk) with granulated sugar and stir until it swells
  2. Add TBM and BP, stir until it swells, then add water. Stir again.
  3. After it swells, add sifted mixture of white flour, cocoa powder and maizena powder. Stir slowly.
  4. Add melted margarine and room butter (or you can replace with weijsmann butter). Stir as well again.
  5. Add chocolate paste to taste. Stir again.
  6. Pour batter into 3 margarine smeared baking tray. Put them in oven.
  7. Mix well Whippy cream, condensed milk (I usually use carnation milk), strawberry essence/grisco butter until it swells.
  8. After the batter cooked, let it cool. Stake the layer and seal it with blueberry jam between it layer.
  9. Spread the whole with spread cream and decorated with colatta chocolate and cherry (you can decorate as you like it)
One thought on “Black Forest, My Special Cake!

Leave a Reply

